where expertise comes together since 1996

The Web's Largest Open Access Database of Nondestructive Testing (NDT) ISSN 1435-4934
Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum and a Professional Network
All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Calibration Procedures for Immersion Ultrasound Testing
General Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Italian NDT Talk
About Articles & News
Special Sessions

ULTRASOUND INSTITUTE
The Ultrasound Institute can offer solutions for individual tasks in different areas of various applications of ultrasonic techniques

Technical Discussions
00:05 Jan-15-2002

Suresh Palanisamy

Student, - Ph D Engineering ,
Swinburne University,
Australia,
Joined Jul 2000
Calibration Procedures for Immersion Ultrasound Testing
Hi all,

I am a researcher working on Ultrasound immersion testing of Aluminium parts.
I have a copy of the Australian Standard 2083-1981 -- Calibration Blocks and their methods of use in Ultrasonic Testing,
which explains basically about the ultrasound contact testing.

My question is whether there are any separate calibration standards for ultrasound immersion testing.
If so what are they.

Thank you,

Suresh Palanisamy

04:48 Jan-15-2002

Udo Schlengermann
Consultant, - ,
Standards Consulting,
Germany,
Joined Nov 1998
Re: Calibration Procedures for Immersion Ultrasound Testing
reply by Udo Schlengermann
:

If you look for general standards on ultrasonic immersion technique, please take a look at the following ASTM specifications:

ASTM E124 (2001)
Standard practice for immersed ultrasonic examination by the reflection-method using pulsed longitudinal waves.

ASTM E1001 (1999)
Standard practice for detection and evaluation of discontinuities by the immersed pulsed-echo ultrasonic method using longitudinal waves.

Reference
More details how to use the ultrasonic immersion technique for special test objects you can only get from handbooks or by special training courses.