where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

GB Inspection Systems Ltd.
A leading UK manufacturer of Ultrasonic Probes, Accessories, Supplier of NDT Equipment and more.
Career Discussions
Al68
Al68
04:31 Apr-13-2010
RT Company or back to tech school?

I have been carrying out radiography in Canada since 2005 and am considering either staring my own company or going back to school for further education in the NDT field. The program length is 2 years and I will come out with the training to challenge my UT2 LPI2 ET2 as I already have my RT2 and MT2. My question is should I take the 2 years and get these tickets or should I rig up a truck and start making the big money???

Thanks for the help.

Jon Wallis
NDT Inspector, -
Netherlands, Joined Feb 2010, 626

Jon Wallis

NDT Inspector, -
Netherlands,
Joined Feb 2010
13:03 Apr-13-2010
Re: RT Company or back to tech school?
In Reply to Al68 at 04:31 Apr-13-2010 (Opening).

Difficult to answer this question but I'll give you my opinion for what it's worth.

Think about what you want to do; do you want to work singly as a freelancer - then you'll probably need to have as many qualificiations as possible to cover all eventualities, or do you intend employing personnel - they should then be qualified to do the work so it's not so important if you have the quals.