where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Sonotron NDT
Original developer and manufacturer of advanced ultrasonic instruments
Technical Discussions
Conrad
Other, QA Manager
Swepco Tube, USA, Joined Feb 2014, 2

Conrad

Other, QA Manager
Swepco Tube,
USA,
Joined Feb 2014
14:35 Feb-21-2014
RT

Can someone help with this question, I am prepping for my ACCP/ASNT Level 3 RT renewal.
Assume you are standing three feet from a a 15 Curie cobalt-60 source. How many mR/hr dosages are you getting?

Frank Lund
R & D,
United Kingdom, Joined Apr 2005, 222

Frank Lund

R & D,
United Kingdom,
Joined Apr 2005
15:08 Feb-21-2014
Re: RT
In Reply to Conrad at 14:35 Feb-21-2014 (Opening).

My background is not in RT, but I would have thought that knowledge of strength of sources would be fundamental for a Level 1 in view of its impact on Radiological Safety.

Gerald R. Reams
Engineering,
Industry, USA, Joined Aug 2012, 181

Gerald R. Reams

Engineering,
Industry,
USA,
Joined Aug 2012
15:23 Feb-21-2014
In Reply to Frank Lund at 15:08 Feb-21-2014 .

A word of advice for taking Level III examinations: You need to be very familiar and comfortable with equations that are basic to the NDE method. You need to understand which equation applies to the question asked and how to properly complete the calculations.

I assume that since you are preparing for your Level III renewal examination, you have successfully passed the initial Radiography Level III examination. If so, you should be capable of working the equation.

Regards,
Gerald R. Reams
ASNT NDT Level III

Conrad
Other, QA Manager
Swepco Tube, USA, Joined Feb 2014, 2

Conrad

Other, QA Manager
Swepco Tube,
USA,
Joined Feb 2014
16:43 Feb-21-2014
In Reply to Gerald R. Reams at 15:23 Feb-21-2014 .