where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -
Career Discussions
John Cooper
NDT Inspector,
USA, Joined Feb 2015, 4

John Cooper

NDT Inspector,
USA,
Joined Feb 2015
06:22 May-28-2015
How do I prove my level of certification from the Air Force?

Hello

I am very interested in getting back into the field of NDI (NDT). I have my DD-214 and certificate of NDI training from the Air Force. Is this all the info I need? In addition I believe I was a level 3 inspector. How would I prove my level of certification.

Thank you in advanced for taking the time and answering my post.

Gratefully.

John

Michel Couture
NDT Inspector,
consultant, Canada, Joined Sep 2006, 850

Michel Couture

NDT Inspector,
consultant,
Canada,
Joined Sep 2006
01:03 May-29-2015
Re: How do I prove my level of certification from the Air Force?
In Reply to John Cooper at 06:22 May-28-2015 (Opening).

John, the best way to go is to contact your local ASNT branch.

Mick
NDT Inspector,
USA, Joined Mar 2012, 14

Mick

NDT Inspector,
USA,
Joined Mar 2012
17:55 May-29-2015
In Reply to John Cooper at 06:22 May-28-2015 (Opening).

Hi John,
I spent 20 years in the Air Force and taught at the NDI Basic and Advanced Tech Training Center back when it was at Chanute. I was able to prove my 40 hr safety for RT but that's about it. I took tests through ASNT to get my level II's and III's and my employer tested me as well. It also depends on how long you have been out of the field, whether your planning on inspecting aircraft or steel fabrication/ erection and what your employer's written practice says. I considered myself a level III when I got out too, but unless there is an ASNT in front of it no one else is going to pay much attention to it. Good Luck

John Cooper
NDT Inspector,
USA, Joined Feb 2015, 4

John Cooper

NDT Inspector,