where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

WesDyne International (AMDATA Products)
WesDyne is an engineering and technical services firm dedicated to providing standard and custom nondestructive examinations (NDE) products and systems
Technical Discussions
Charles
Charles
13:17 Apr-09-2017
General query on Linear scan vs Dynamic depth focusing

Hi,

I'm pretty new to NDT and I have a question that needs answering!

When comparing Linear scan (Plane B-scan) against Dynamic depth focusing (DDF or Focused B-scan), why is it that the side lobes are significantly reduced in DDF?

Regards,
Charles

Charles
Charles
13:19 Apr-09-2017
Re: General query on Linear scan vs Dynamic depth focusing
In Reply to Charles at 13:17 Apr-09-2017 (Opening).

Also, why is it that sectorial scans have significant presence of side lobes too?

Ed Ginzel
R & D, -
Materials Research Institute, Canada, Joined Nov 1998, 1300

Ed Ginzel

R & D, -
Materials Research Institute,
Canada,
Joined Nov 1998
17:21 Apr-09-2017
In Reply to Charles at 13:19 Apr-09-2017 .

Charles, DDF is a processing algorithm that sums the received signal, therefore it is not actually eliminating "side-lobes" but is instead limiting the contributions of off-axis paths.
As for your second question, perhaps you are confusing "side-lobes" with "grating-lobes". Side-lobes are a function of the aperture to wavelength ratio so not usually a consideration in S-scans any more than other scan-types. However, if you attempt to over-extend the recommended steering limits of a good probe design, you could start to observe artefacts that result from grating lobes. In NDT.net, there is a paper and associated video that explains the formation of grating lobes at http://www.ndt.net/article/ndtnet/2015/2_Ginzel.pdf

Charles
Charles
11:05 Apr-10-2017