where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

GB Inspection Systems Ltd.
A leading UK manufacturer of Ultrasonic Probes, Accessories, Supplier of NDT Equipment and more.
Technical Discussions
BONNOT Fabien
BONNOT Fabien
08:39 Dec-01-2013
TOFD phase inversion

Hello everybody

I'm a french ultrasonic testing teacher (classic UT and spécificals technics like TOFD and phased array) and I have one comprehension problem with the TOFD phase inversion (it's not in the formation program).

I would like to know what 's the physical principle of this phase inversion between the two diffraction echoes (top and bottom) of a crack.

Some people talk about the PROGLER théory.

I know that physically there is always a phase inversion when a plan wave move in a circular wave (the diffraction) but why there is an inversion between the top and bottom diffraction (I think it's not an interference problem between them : very short impulsion and possibly high dimension of the crack so impossibility interference of the tow diffraction).

Thank a lot for help on this subject.

BONNOT Fabien

Ed Ginzel
R & D, -
Materials Research Institute, Canada, Joined Nov 1998, 1300

Ed Ginzel

R & D, -
Materials Research Institute,
Canada,
Joined Nov 1998
17:58 Dec-01-2013
Re: TOFD phase inversion
In Reply to BONNOT Fabien at 08:39 Dec-01-2013 (Opening).

Fabien, I think you might imagine this as the effect of the reflection coefficient.