where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Sonatest Ltd
From our three distinct business centres in the UK, USA and CANADA, Sonatest design and produce a leading range of high performance ultrasonic NDT equipment and accessories.
Technical Discussions
Bruce Maxfield
Bruce Maxfield
00:36 Feb-17-2019
Establishing a Certification for EMAT Ultrasonic NDE

I am a consultant working with itRobotics in the Houston, Texas area (www.itrobotics.com). itRobotics is commercializing EMATs for applications within several industrial sectors. Some potential users of these NDE inspection services have inquired about having some of their inspection technicians trained to perform an independent assessment of inspection issues for their suitability to benefit them from one or more of the cost, environmental or other advantages that may be inherent in an EMAT-based inspection. The experience of itRobotics as well as my own personal experience is that a large majority of NDT technicians or engineers possessing Level III UT certification are not equipped to perform EMAT-based test evaluations. Currently, I do the training as well as EMAT test assessment suitability for itRobotics. This could certainly be viewed by a prospective client as not being an independent test assessment and evaluation. I have been asked by itRobotics to look into establishing an independent training and certification program through some appropriate professional organization. I am posting here to solicit feedback from the ultrasonic NDE/NDT community on which body or bodies might be most appropriate as the “certification authority”.

ASHOK KUMAR PATRA
Saudi K-KEM Engineering service co, Saudi Arabia, Joined May 2018, 55

ASHOK KUMAR PATRA

Saudi K-KEM Engineering service co,
Saudi Arabia,
Joined May 2018
12:25 Feb-17-2019