where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -
Technical Discussions
Reza Alavi
Université Laval, Canada, Joined Jul 2019, 4

Reza Alavi

Université Laval,
Canada,
Joined Jul 2019
14:33 Jul-30-2019
Detecting delamination in thin carbon steel plates using phased array UT

Hello,

I am very new in UT testing. I am using a TOPAZ 32 UT machine and I am supposed to detect delaminations inside relatively thin carbon steel plates (around 3-4 mm thickness). I am using a phased array prob with 128 elements with a thick cubic wedge on it (around 4 cm thickness). I set the device to send straight beams perpendicular to the surface with 16 aperture. I am not sure if this type of prob and the method is good enough to detect delaminations or cracks parallel to the surface. Does anybody have any suggestion on how to detect this kind of defects in thin steel plates? I would appreciate your advice.

bommakanti srinivas
bommakanti srinivas
05:29 Jul-31-2019
Re: Detecting delamination in thin carbon steel plates using phased array UT
In Reply to Reza Alavi at 14:33 Jul-30-2019 (Opening).

sir

can't it be possible with conventional UT with delay probe (HIGH FREQUENCY & SMALLER DIAMETER)

regards
B.SRINIVAS

Reza Alavi

Reza Alavi

Université Laval,
Canada,
Joined Jul 2019
13:30 Jul-31-2019
In Reply to bommakanti srinivas at 05:29 Jul-31-2019 .

Hello,

Thank you for your input, I will try to give it a try.

Regards,
Reza

Wiesław Bicz
Engineering,
PBP Optel sp. z o.o., Poland, Joined Feb 2009, 268

Wiesław Bicz

Engineering,
PBP Optel sp. z o.o.,
Poland,
Joined Feb 2009
14:02 Jul-31-2019
In Reply to Reza Alavi at 14:33 Jul-30-2019 (Opening).

How thin are your thin plates?

Reza Alavi

Reza Alavi

Université Laval,
Canada,
Joined Jul 2019
14:14 Jul-31-2019