where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

IMG ULTRASUONI SRL
Ultrasonic transducers for industrial applications (NDT) and medical (Doppler effect). Probes, Ultrasonic instruments, Special systems for NDT.
Technical Discussions
Mart
Mart
13:50 Oct-26-2019
Ultrasonic testing butts

Hi i am new to NDT and practising UT on butt welds. Usually i will do a root scan first on the welded joint to look for defects.
How do i distinguish between difference lack of root penetration and a good root penetration?
Sometimes i also use a 60 degree probe for root scan and i get a really strong signal which im told is the root but i keep calling something that isnt there.

Any other tips for scanning would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Pedro a. Serruto gamboa
Director, Level II UT, PT
Red Code Quality, Peru, Joined Sep 2013, 86

Pedro a. Serruto gamboa

Director, Level II UT, PT
Red Code Quality,
Peru,
Joined Sep 2013
19:52 Oct-26-2019
Re: Ultrasonic testing butts
In Reply to Mart at 13:50 Oct-26-2019 (Opening).

Dear anonimus, the horizontal distance to the indication will help you, if the distance is a little far away from the center line of the weld and in the begining of the second leg (if you’ve put the nominal thickness of the plate) maybe we’re talking about a root indication, but, if the distance is before the center line with a depth equal or lesser than the nominal thickness, it could be a signal from a lack of fusion in the root, maybe the bevel is not fusioned in the root.

Creed
NDT Inspector,
n.n., Joined Jul 2009, 31

Creed

NDT Inspector,
n.n.,
Joined Jul 2009
05:19 Oct-28-2019
Re: Ultrasonic testing butts
In Reply to Mart at 13:50 Oct-26-2019 (Opening).

Hi,