where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

NT - Nove technologie s.r.o.
Ultrasonic gel for NDT application. Various types of ultrasonic agents. Starsonic SS2, SS3

Career Discussions
Dave B.
Dave B.
01:00 Apr-09-2009
Need some career advice please

Hi folks.

I've been an engineer for 10 years now and in the present climate, i'm looking for a career change. Last year my company paid for me to attain my pcn level 2 in MT. This is something that interests me so i'm thinking about taking it further (on my own expense). I've tried doing a bit of research on this site and others as to the best course of action so i was wondering if you had any advice as to what certificates would be best for my job prospects (UT, RT, eddy current?) I'm not adverse to the idea of working offshore either. Obviously i'd need the offshore training and medical but what other ndt techniques would be most sought after? Sorry if i'm rambling a bit, any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Phil
NDT Inspector, Radiation Safety
BINDT, MIAQP, United Kingdom, Joined Mar 2009, 151

Phil

BINDT, MIAQP,
United Kingdom,
Joined Mar 2009
01:23 Apr-09-2009
Re: Need some career advice please
In Reply to Dave B. at 01:00 Apr-09-2009 (Opening).

Dave, as I have posted earlier on advice for courses seems to be a lot of work for UT, MT, PT, qualifications but to get UT and PT PCN you would have to go through level 1, gain the required experience then level 2 plus the courses of course, but also seems to be work for tofd and AUT as well so really it would be up to you which way you went. Best of luck, and hope this has helped a little.
Regards,
Phil

Dave B.
Dave B.
01:31 Apr-09-2009
In Reply to Phil at 01:23 Apr-09-2009 .

Thanks for the response Phil.