where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

WesDyne International (AMDATA Products)
WesDyne is an engineering and technical services firm dedicated to providing standard and custom nondestructive examinations (NDE) products and systems
Technical Discussions
damoon sima
damoon sima
00:21 Apr-08-2003
stress measurment by eddy current

i'm a student of mechanical engineering in tehran polytechnic university.
i wanna know if it is possible to measure the residual stress
by eddycurrent.if it is possible please show me some refrances
about this matter.
i want to plan some experiments on this field.please help me in this way.
many thanks

Tom Bloodworth
Tom Bloodworth
00:36 Apr-10-2003
Re: stress measurment by eddy current
"Wanna" know?!

Residual Stress may be measured using electromagnetic methods, but is is quite a difficult problem. I do not have references to hand, but do a search for work by David Buttle at AEA Technology. He developed the MAPS system which, to my knowledge, is the only such non-destructive method that can measure absolute stress.

: i'm a student of mechanical engineering in tehran polytechnic university.
: i wanna know if it is possible to measure the residual stress
: by eddycurrent.if it is possible please show me some refrances
: about this matter.
: i want to plan some experiments on this field.please help me in this way.
: many thanks

Product Spotlight

TOPAZ® 64: Fully Integrated Portable 32 or 64 Channel PAUT Instrument with FMC & TFM

Introducing TOPAZ64, the industry’s most intelligent fully integrated, portable 32 or 64-channel