where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Materials Research Institute
Consulting to the NDT industry.
Technical Discussions
Josip Vuk
Josip Vuk
01:52 Sep-08-2003
Aircraft weld incpection

I am a student at Faculty of Engineering and Naval Arhitecture in Zagreb. I am doing my final thesis and am looking for a Maintenance Manual or Component Repair and Overhaul Manual for any part of any type of any Boeing or Airbus aircraft, which defines inspection of welds (either steel or aluminum).
My intention is to simulate such a part in faculty`s labaratory (for I am unable to acquire a real-life part or documentation)and to perform prescribed radiografic (or ultrasonic) testing.
Materials can be on-line.

Joe Buckley
Consultant, ASNT L-III, Honorary Secretary of BINDT
Level X NDT, BINDT, United Kingdom, Joined Oct 1999, 526

Joe Buckley

Consultant, ASNT L-III, Honorary Secretary of BINDT
Level X NDT, BINDT,
United Kingdom,
Joined Oct 1999
06:50 Sep-08-2003
Re: Aircraft weld incpection
in my experience there are very few critical welded joints in Aircraft structures. Mostly just used in ancilliary assemblies, In particular in Ducting (e.g thin wall stainless or alloy tubes) and in landing gear.

----------- Start Original Message -----------
: I am a student at Faculty of Engineering and Naval Arhitecture in Zagreb. I am doing my final thesis and am looking for a Maintenance Manual or Component Repair and Overhaul Manual for any part of any type of any Boeing or Airbus aircraft, which defines inspection of welds (either steel or aluminum).
: My intention is to simulate such a part in faculty`s labaratory (for I am unable to acquire a real-life part or documentation)and to perform prescribed radiografic (or ultrasonic) testing.
: Materials can be on-line.