where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -
Technical Discussions
George Crowe
Consultant, AEROSPACE NDT
Self Employed, United Kingdom, Joined May 2013, 30

George Crowe

Self Employed,
United Kingdom,
Joined May 2013
16:24 Nov-02-2018
First Critical Angle of reflection Formula

Can anyone let me have the velocity formula for first critical angle of reflection? (Not Refraction)

Kelly G.
Kelly G.
19:21 Nov-02-2018
Re: First Critical Angle of reflection Formula
In Reply to George Crowe at 16:24 Nov-02-2018 (Opening).

I am a student, a newbie in this field, and am curious as well. I looked over my notes briefly and was under the impression the velocity was given or determined by the type of material being used and the type of wave. For instance, if I was using steel it would be .230 u/s for compression wave but if I was using a shear wave it is half this amount. If I am wrong or this is not your answer to your problem then I am interested in the velocity formula as well.

Ed Ginzel
R & D, -
Materials Research Institute, Canada, Joined Nov 1998, 1282

Ed Ginzel

R & D, -
Materials Research Institute,
Canada,
Joined Nov 1998
19:56 Nov-02-2018
In Reply to George Crowe at 16:24 Nov-02-2018 (Opening).

George, I THINK you are asking about a shear mode impinging on a free boundary and mode converting. I have attached a figure conveying what I think you are asking. If so, it is just the arc-sin of the ratio of the incident shear velocity over the reflected (mode-converted) compression velocity.

George Crowe

George Crowe

Self Employed,
United Kingdom,
Joined May 2013
20:11 Nov-02-2018
In Reply to Ed Ginzel at 19:56 Nov-02-2018 .