where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

IMechE Engineering Training Solutions
IMechE Argyll Ruane is based in a multi-million pound Engineering Training Centre, just outside Sheffield city centre with excellent local amenit ...
Technical Discussions
Steve Amspacher
NDT Inspector,
Bridge Industry, USA, Joined Jun 2019, 2

Steve Amspacher

NDT Inspector,
Bridge Industry,
USA,
Joined Jun 2019
17:24 Aug-14-2019
velocity of different steels

I am not having much luck in my research. does anyone have any input on the velocity of different steels. i work in the bridge industry and use alot of A709 or M270. my question is in regards to the different grades 50, 50w, 70w, 70hps. are the velocities different for all of these?if so is it a big enough difference to effect my sensitivity and angle calibration for UT? any input is welcomed. i currently use the type2 iiw block for cal.

Anmol Birring
Consultant,
Birring NDE Center, Inc., USA, Joined Aug 2011, 738

Anmol Birring

Consultant,
Birring NDE Center, Inc.,
USA,
Joined Aug 2011
20:40 Aug-17-2019
Re: velocity of different steels
In Reply to Steve Amspacher at 17:24 Aug-14-2019 (Opening).

All carbon steels have practically the same velocity. Austenitic stainless is slightly different

Ali
NDT Inspector,
Iran, Joined Mar 2013, 97

Ali

NDT Inspector,
Iran,
Joined Mar 2013
13:07 Aug-18-2019
In Reply to Steve Amspacher at 17:24 Aug-14-2019 (Opening).