where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

ZETEC, Inc.
Zetec is a global leader in nondestructive testing (NDT) solutions for the critical inspection needs of industries the world counts on every day, ...
Career Discussions
Jarrod
USA, Joined Aug 2019, 0

Jarrod

USA,
Joined Aug 2019
04:43 May-10-2012
Metal Dusting NDT

I am an electrical engineer currently working in the Defense and Space industry in North Alabama. Last year I was presented with an opportunity to develop an NDT system to address a metal dusting issue that was present in Reformer Tubes. I was initially given a brief overview of the problem that we were trying to address and two small sample tubes approximately 18" long on which base the design/. The two tubes were approximately 6" in diameter and had some major pitting issues with some pits as large as a dime and 1/8" deep or more and I was told that this was due to metal dusting. My role was to develop a prototype system that would detect these issues while my business partner was going to market it to the appropriate people/companies and perform the NDT for those companies. I was able to successfully develop a prototype system using the test pipes including the complete electrical/electronic system that links to a PC as well a rudimentary mechanical system to "hook" to the outside of the tubes for initial testing. Once the prototype was developed and ready for initial testing, my business partner kinda dropped the ball and nothing has happened with it since.