where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

TecScan Systems
We offer a complete line of NDT scanners, Immersion Tanks & Gantry systems which incorporate Ultrasonic, Phased Array & Eddy Current technologies.
Technical Discussions
Daryl
Daryl
20:40 Mar-19-2020
Using ultrasonic flaw detector for biomedical application

Hi all,
I ended up here while researching an off-the-shelf ultrasonic system for biomedical experiment I am doing for my startup. I was a medical device engineer before, mostly in optical devices, but quite a newbie in ultrasonics.

I am thinking using a ultrasonic flaw detector like Sonotron NDT's utPOD to A-scan urinary bladder. I don't see a huge safety risk at the moment, but since I haven't used or haven't worked with such detector, I am not quite sure if it's a wise thing to do. Also, since it's quite bit of financial investment, I'd like to ask you guys who have experiences whether it's a total nonsense or not.

Best,
Daryl

Wieslaw Bicz
Engineering,
PBP Optel sp. z o.o., Poland, Joined Feb 2009, 271

Wieslaw Bicz

Engineering,
PBP Optel sp. z o.o.,
Poland,
Joined Feb 2009
23:40 Mar-19-2020
Re: Using ultrasonic flaw detector for biomedical application
In Reply to Daryl at 20:40 Mar-19-2020 (Opening).

You can naturally use ultrasonic flaw detector for such application, but it will be cheaper and more useful to use devices, that are more universal and can be used in connection with a PC (laptop), that is much more convenient, since you can make your own software perfectly suitable for your application. I can offer you our OPBOX, that is described here: http://www.optel.eu/manual/english/opbox21.html
Many people are using this device for medical applications and for many other scientific experiments, not only for NDT.