where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Aluminum Casting NDT Suggestions
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

06:35 Sep-28-1999
Sandy Coldwell
Aluminum Casting NDT Suggestions

I am a student in the United States and new to non-destructive testing techniques. Can you suggest available (or easily modifiable) methods to test C355 aluminum cast parts - specifically turbocharger compressor wheels. The method should be relatively inexpensive, reliable, and easily interpretable.

Thanks
Sandy Coldwell
(a starving Mechanical Engineering student)
ws.coldwell@prodigy.net

09:34 Sep-28-1999

Tom Nelligan

Engineering,
retired,
USA,
Joined Nov 1998
Re: Aluminum Casting NDT Suggestions
: I am a student in the United States and new to non-destructive testing techniques. Can you suggest available (or easily modifiable) methods to test C355 aluminum cast parts - specifically turbocharger compressor wheels. The method should be relatively inexpensive, reliable, and easily interpretable.