where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
NDE of Plastics
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

02:27 Dec-03-1999
Niles Stenmark
NDE of Plastics

I am currently a graduate student at UW-Milwaukee. I am working
on the determination of Young's modulus for polyester/particulate
composites from ultrasonic shear and longitudinal velocities. I then take
my samples and determine Young's modulus by compression testing.
My data suggests strongly that Young's modulus determined from
NDE is about double the value obtained from compression testing.
A team and myself have thoroughly checked over the calculations for
error. Is this common in plastics? Is there any explanation for
the data variations?

02:23 Dec-04-1999
Chris Edwards
Re: NDE of Plastics : I am currently a graduate student at UW-Milwaukee. I am working
: on the determination of Young's modulus for polyester/particulate
: composites from ultrasonic shear and longitudinal velocities. I then take
: my samples and determine Young's modulus by compression testing.
: My data suggests strongly that Young's modulus determined from
: NDE is about double the value obtained from compression testing.
: A team and myself have thoroughly checked over the calculations for
: error. Is this common in plastics? Is there any explanation for
: the data variations?

Many plastics are viscoelastic ie soft at low stain rates but harder at high stain rates.
Young modulus determined by a compression test is low frequency ie soft.
Whereas Youngs Modulus determined ultrasonically (high frequency)will be higher as the material appears stiffer.

05:57 Jan-31-2000

Valliyappan David Natarajan

Student, Research Assistant
National University of Malaysia,
Malaysia,
Joined Jan 2000