where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
NDTesting of a mechanical connection: Options?
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

Vidisco Ltd.
Vidisco Ltd. is the leading designer and manufacturer of state-of-the-art Digital Radiography systems.

06:53 Aug-29-2008
Steven
NDTesting of a mechanical connection: Options?

Hi,

I am a mechanical engineer but fairly new to the field of NDT. The problem I am facing is that I need to verify a mechanical connection of one tube press-fitted into another tube.

Currently I am looking at using mechanical vibrations to verify whether they are well connected. When I excite the structure at resonance frequency and measure the respons at a given point, harmonic distortion can give me an idea whether this is well fixed or not. A lot of harmonic distortion means a non-linear contact, hence a bad press-fit. Low harmonic content tells me the system behaves lineary, and thus we can asume good contact and a good press-fit.

This technique can be used I think, but I was wondering whether there are some alternative techniques to solve these kind of problems ?

Thank you,
Steven

00:01 Aug-30-2008

Sang Kim

Consultant, NDT Trainer
Guided Wave Analysis LLC,
USA,
Joined Feb 2008
Re: NDTesting of a mechanical connection: Options?
Hello Steven,