where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Technical Discussions
Steven
Steven
06:53 Aug-29-2008
NDTesting of a mechanical connection: Options?

Hi,

I am a mechanical engineer but fairly new to the field of NDT. The problem I am facing is that I need to verify a mechanical connection of one tube press-fitted into another tube.

Currently I am looking at using mechanical vibrations to verify whether they are well connected. When I excite the structure at resonance frequency and measure the respons at a given point, harmonic distortion can give me an idea whether this is well fixed or not. A lot of harmonic distortion means a non-linear contact, hence a bad press-fit. Low harmonic content tells me the system behaves lineary, and thus we can asume good contact and a good press-fit.

This technique can be used I think, but I was wondering whether there are some alternative techniques to solve these kind of problems ?

Thank you,
Steven

Sang Kim
Consultant, NDT Trainer
Guided Wave Analysis LLC, USA, Joined Feb 2008, 44

Sang Kim

Consultant, NDT Trainer
Guided Wave Analysis LLC,
USA,
Joined Feb 2008
00:01 Aug-30-2008
Re: NDTesting of a mechanical connection: Options?

Hello Steven,