where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -
Technical Discussions
N. Y. Kao
N. Y. Kao
09:36 Apr-17-2000
Vibration sensor

Hi,

I am a student undergoing a project 'Heart Rate Monitor'.

I am trying to capture wrist pulse in order to measure the heart rate.

Here are few questions:
1. How to use a vibration sensor?

2. Is it it converts mechanical force into voltage directly? Then i capture the signal using an amplifier?

3. My friend recomend me bi-morph flexure elements. But, how to use it? Any application notes?

Your help is much appreciated.
Thank you!

steve
steve
02:26 May-09-2001
Re: Vibration sensor
Hi,
I'm looking for info on the bi-morph vibration sensors too. So far i've discovered the main issue with these devices is that they like to be connected to high-impedance inputs. 1 to 2 Megohms. "FET input op-amps" are a good starting point.

steve

: Hi,

: I am a student undergoing a project 'Heart Rate Monitor'.

: I am trying to capture wrist pulse in order to measure the heart rate.

: Here are few questions:
: 1. How to use a vibration sensor?

: 2. Is it it converts mechanical force into voltage directly? Then i capture the signal using an amplifier?

: 3. My friend recomend me bi-morph flexure elements. But, how to use it? Any application notes?

: Your help is much appreciated.
: Thank you!

Dr. Patel
R & D, Consultant to Universities/Industries
Fallon Ultrasonics/McMaster University, Canada, Joined May 2001, 20

Dr. Patel

R & D, Consultant to Universities/Industries
Fallon Ultrasonics/McMaster University,
Canada,
Joined May 2001
04:52 May-09-2001
Re: Vibration sensor