where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Why I can not image the curve surface in pulse-echo mode?
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

AT-Automation Technology GmbH
AT -Automation Technology is a systems house for industrial image processing. AT offers thermographic ndt systems as well as high-speed 3D sensors.

02:23 Jun-28-2000

yuan xu

Student
Texas A&M University,
USA,
Joined Jan 2000
Why I can not image the curve surface in pulse-echo mode?

Dear NDT experts:

I am a graduate student of Biomedical engineering. I am trying to image a muscle with a curved surface(you can just think it is a sphere with a radius of 2cm) buried in fat in pulse-echo mode. I scan the tranducer in one direction and get a 2-D image. The transducer I use is a 1MHz central frequency, 0.6 MHz bandwidth focused transducer, whose active element size is 0.75 inch and focal length is 1 inch. But the image I get is only two parellel lines with the length about 0.5cm , which are perpendicular to the acoustic axis. I just can not get an image of curved surface. Could anyone tell me the reason and how to overcome it?

Thanks!

Best regards

Yuan Xu

09:04 Jun-29-2000
Dipl.-Ing. Martin Heinz
Re: Why I can not image the curve surface in pulse-echo mode? Dear Yuan Xu,

for answering exactly a breef description of your experimental setup would be helpful: