where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

KARL DEUTSCH
INSTRUMENTS AND SYSTEMS FOR NON-DESTRUCTIVE TESTING OF MATERIALS.
Technical Discussions
simone brocco
Student
university, Italy, Joined Jul 2000, 4

simone brocco

Student
university,
Italy,
Joined Jul 2000
01:12 Sep-17-2000
bandshape for ultrasonic probe

My name is Simone Brocco, I'm an Italian student in his final year in Biomedical Engineering- "La Sapienza" University in Rome (Italy).
I'm working on my thesis concerning Ultrasonic Transducers for Noninvasive Medical Application: probe (backing load,bonding layer,PZT,matching layers and acoustical lens).
For my thesis I'm now verifying the correspondence between the texts on the argument and the effective realization by constructors.
Now I'm studing the function of matching layer. I read that it modify the band pass characteristic of system.
My question is: what is the best bandpass characteristic for a short impulse and why? There are other? Why?

Simone Brocco

Michael Trinidad
Consultant,
LMATS Pty Ltd , Australia, Joined Jan 2003, 138

Michael Trinidad

Consultant,
LMATS Pty Ltd ,
Australia,
Joined Jan 2003
04:30 Oct-03-2000
Re: bandshape for ultrasonic probe
Increase bandwidth = decrease sensitivity

increase velocity = increase wavelength = decrease near field

increase pulse length = decrease resolution

increase Q = decrease bandwidth = increase depth of penetration

decrease wavelength = increased sensitivity = decrease near zone = decrease beam spread

increase transducer dia = decrease beamspread = decrease sensitivity = increase near field

increase frequency = decrease beam spread = increase sensitivity = decreased wavelength = decrease depth of penetration = increase near zone

Kindest Regards

Michael Trinidad

Product Spotlight