where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions
Career Discussions >
Robotic Inspections: Pros / Con / Experience
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

IMG ULTRASUONI SRL
Ultrasonic transducers for industrial applications (NDT) and medical (Doppler effect). Probes, Ultrasonic instruments, Special systems for NDT.

08:38 Jun-27-2005
K. F.
Robotic Inspections: Pros / Con / Experience

All,

An inspection company has recently sent my company information on inspections that they perform with ROV's.(Remote Operated Vehicle) I have some experience with ROV's taking UT Thickness readings on storage tank shells externaly. (B-scan and grid-type straight beam) This brief experience was about 6 or so years ago, and there seemed to me to be a high level of expertise needed on the part of the technician/operator, in order to operate, calibrate, and trouble shoot the equipment. With this being said, it seemed that this would be something that would be utilized for a storage tank that stored a none hazardous material. (i.e. water)

The particular ROV system is OTIS. Since I don't have much experience with much of the ROV technology that seems to be out there, I figured that I would post to see what others experience is with this system or other systems that are out there. I would like to know the pro's, as well as the con's of ROV inspections as well as experiences that companies with storagetanks have had with these type of inspections. Good. Bad. Possible recomendations. How these inspection compare to tanking equipment out of service and haveing the same inspections performed by inspection personal.

Thank you,

K.Fosha

03:30 Jun-27-2005
Richard Kazares