where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Automated UT of pipelines
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

01:02 Oct-12-2000

David Davies

Level III , QA Engineer , Ops. Supervisor
Vetco Saudi Arabia Ltd,
Saudi Arabia,
Joined Sep 2000
Automated UT of pipelines

I am evaluating a project for automated UT of cross country pipeline girth welds. Can anyone give me their experiences with the various options available, particularly capabilities, reliability, approval by certification bodies. I have a lot of experience with manual UT but need help with the latest automated equipment.
I am starting from scratch on this project so any pointers or contacts would be appreciated.
Thanks
Dave Davies

01:22 Oct-13-2000

Doug Breeze

Director, Consultant; R&D
Inspection Software Limited,
United Kingdom,
Joined May 2000
Re: Automated UT of pipelines Trying to get on-the-record objective views from
users of automatad equipment must be like asking
a preacher which is the best God.

My comments are no more objective than anyone else's,
but they are based on field experience with several
automated systems (some nuclear, some pipelines,
some in the Saudi desert), but there are several
common principles to look for.

The Equipment
-------------
1. Look at the suppliers reputation and track record.
2. Look for the very best mechanical design...
(ruggedness, mechanical backlash, precision,
exposure/protection, connections, etc.)
3. Look for flexibility and versatilty in the software,
best performance in the electronics, and for a
range of scanners... whatever you plan to examine
now, you'll need to do something different soon
enough.
4. Plan for regular maintenance schedules (sometimes
daily in the desert), and determine how readily the