where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Ultrasonic Distance Measuring System
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

Materials Research Institute
Consulting to the NDT industry.

04:35 Oct-13-2000
Artan Devexhiu
Ultrasonic Distance Measuring System

Dear all

My name is Artan and I am a final year student.
I need to costruct a circuit to transmit and receive
an ultrasonic pulse in order to measure distance.
This circuit will need to be interfaced to the PC
later on. Therefore if anyone has any ideas on how
this could be done(especially the circuit construction)
then please let me know ASAP.

Thank you.

05:48 Oct-13-2000
Dipl.-Ing. Martin Heinz.
Re: Ultrasonic Distance Measuring System As I just wrote at June, 28, 1999 one possibility would be the use of a TDC-circuit (time-to-digital converter). Such a circuit is e.g. available from acam (acam-messelectronic GmbH, Haid und Neu-Str. 7, D-76131 Karlsruhe, Germany, Phone 0049 721 / 9663706, FAX 0049 721 / 9663708, order-code TDC-GP1). This circuit converts the time difference of two trigger pulses into a digital value, what can be used to calculate the time off flight of the ultrasound pulse and convert them to the distance value. A pulse generator for sending an ultrasonic pulse gives the first trigger pulse. A comparator circuit which compares the received ultrasound pulse with a trigger level gives the second trigger pulse for the TDC.
There are also experimental circuits available from POLAROID, which works with the electrostatic POLAROID ultrasonic transducer (see on internet page http://www.polaroid-oem.com/american/new/6500series.htm and http://www.polaroid-oem.com/american/new/ultrasonicrange.htm .