where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

IMG ULTRASUONI SRL
Ultrasonic transducers for industrial applications (NDT) and medical (Doppler effect). Probes, Ultrasonic instruments, Special systems for NDT.

Technical Discussions
Edward Jackson
Edward Jackson
07:00 Oct-24-2000
crack testing of storage vessels

Hi,

I am a novice to the NDT world. I am a second year undergraduate at Loughborough Universtiy studying Mech.Eng.I am doing a industrial project where a valid soultion may well end up being put into place.

I am after information about testing stainless steel storage silos (1000 to 60000 gallons) for cracks in the welds. The silos undergo a high thermal shock every day as part of the cleaning process.

I am looking to detect cracks that appear on the inside surface of the silos. They will probably appear in the welds and they can be randomly orientated.The cracks should be detected before they become big enough to harbour bacteria. There are no identifiable cracks at present.

The tanks are not suitable to send a person inside them without contravening the confined spaces act. There is a water jacket on the outside of the tank that is not removalbe but the water can be removed from it.

I hope that I have provided enough information, thank you in advance for your help.

Ed Jackson

please feel freeto e-mail me on either:-

ed_jackson@ntlworld.com
or E.C.Jackson-99@student.lboro.ac.uk

Michael Trinidad
Consultant,
LMATS Pty Ltd , Australia, Joined Jan 2003, 138

Michael Trinidad

Consultant,
LMATS Pty Ltd ,
Australia,
Joined Jan 2003
01:03 Oct-25-2000
Re: crack testing of storage vessels
to get the real feasibility you would be wise talking with Physical Acoustic Corporation at the link specified below.

Jens Forker
Jens Forker
01:38 Oct-25-2000