where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
high sensitivity and wide bandwidth
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

ULTRASOUND INSTITUTE
The Ultrasound Institute can develop new advanced ultrasonic measurement, imaging and NDT techniques for non-conventional applications.

06:45 Dec-07-2000

Yuan Xu

Student
Texas A&M University,
USA,
Joined Jan 2000
high sensitivity and wide bandwidth

Dear experts:

I am a graduate student working on thermoacoustic imaging. We need immersion transducers(central frequency 2-3MHz) with both high sensitivity and wide bandwidth(about 60% of central frequency). However, most transducers available are not sensitive enough for our experiments. I am wondering if we can use several narrow-banded very-high-sensitivity transducers, each covering part of the frequency range of interest. Then, I combine the signals from the transducers together to get both high sensitivity and wide bandwidth.

If you have any suggestion or related materials, or see problems in it, I will be very grateful to know it.

Thank you!

Yuan Xu

09:21 Dec-07-2000

Tom Nelligan

Engineering,
retired,
USA,
Joined Nov 1998
Re: high sensitivity and wide bandwidth gned to drive one transducer at a time. Depending on your application requirements, you may need to use individual synchronized pulsers for each transducer in order to obtain optimum performance if you choose the approach that you propose.