where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Career Discussions
Dhanasekaran.N
Dhanasekaran.N
09:24 Jun-28-2009
Selection of Institute for NDT Level I & II courses

I am new to this field, looking for ASNT level I & II courses in MT, PT, UT, and RT.
At present I am in Dubai, here I found some institutes but the course fee is very costly.

In my search, I found an ASNT Level III certified person who is telling that he can conduct the courses for me at his own premises at affordable fees. I met him; at his home he has all instruments except RT)

My question is;
1. Is it advisable to take the courses with him?
2. If I obtain a certification with him is it a valid international certification?
3. Is there any difference between doing the courses in the institute or with level III certified person?

Any comments from NDT experts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Dhanasekaran.N.
Dubai.

Kamran
Kamran
10:01 Jun-28-2009
Re: Selection of Institute for NDT Level I & II courses
In Reply to Dhanasekaran.N at 09:24 Jun-28-2009 (Opening).

it depends upon ur market behavior
if ur market accepts SNT-TC-1A certification with minimum training hours then ok, (Cheap)
and if ur market requires a STANDARD i. e. ASNT CP 189 then u can adopt it, that is expensive but a STANDARD

Dhanasekaran.N
Dhanasekaran.N
08:45 Jun-30-2009
Re: Selection of Institute for NDT Level I & II courses
In Reply to Kamran at 10:01 Jun-28-2009 .

Thank you Mr. Kamran for your reply through the forum. And also I will be thankful to everyone who personally mailed me.

1. Could anyone please tell me a most applicable NDT method to get initial employment in the gulf sector? So that I can prioritize it and do the courses accordingly.