where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Technical Discussions
anjafo
NDT Inspector
Norway, Joined Aug 2009, 204

anjafo

NDT Inspector
Norway,
Joined Aug 2009
11:25 Oct-28-2009
ndt of cladding

Hi,
I have some experience with this. Usually the cladding has been used to build up a seal face before machining.

After machining we perform MPI or DPI checking for defects. Here we almost always find indications in the bond/fusion area between parent material and new cladding material. Both methods show indications. Usually a light machining will remove the indication but generally as its a seal area and been machined down this is not welcome by customer. You can actually see the fused line very well after machining.

Does anyone have experience on what is causing these indications?

Its an expensive process, welding, machining, checking etc so its difficult to just tell customers there is an rejectable indication and leave. Also difficult to leave indications in the item unidentified.

I have also done UT to check fusion between parent and weld materials sometimes but the item needs to be correct geometry for this.

I know wall thickness can be checked by different methods also.

Phil
NDT Inspector, Radiation Safety
BINDT, MIAQP, United Kingdom, Joined Mar 2009, 151

Phil

NDT Inspector, Radiation Safety
BINDT, MIAQP,
United Kingdom,
Joined Mar 2009
20:33 Nov-01-2009
Re: ndt of cladding
In Reply to anjafo at 11:25 Oct-28-2009 (Opening).

Hi Anjafo,

I have also done some work on what you call cladding, we have called Buttering, I am sure it is know by other names, I have done MT and PT, on it.

I would say lack of cleaning between runs, would leave slag behind and as so ypur indication

Regards,

Michel Couture
NDT Inspector,
consultant, Canada, Joined Sep 2006, 834