where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -
Mobile-Friendly Implementation in Progress

PBP Optel sp. z o.o.
We are searching new ways - in ultrasonic techniques - in creation of new products

Technical Discussions
DAC
DAC
18:40 Dec-29-2009
Material Attenution while using DGS

I have been a member to this forum for several months now and this is my first post. I enjoy reading and absorbing the intelligence that is out there.

I have been using a USN58L for about 3 years and have the DGS option. I have used the DGS option for several techniques and would like to know how to properly use the Material Attenuation function since I work with many exotic grades, primarily consisiting of Monel, Inconel, Copper, and Duplex, but not limited to common grades like 4340, 8630, all forms of stainless steel. I want to make sure that this function is set up properly to get a consistent test and proper test.

Also,

On another note. This option has several transducers programmed into with specific curves for these transducers. When not using one of these transducers what is the proper way to set-up for the transducer being used,...ie GE RHP 1" 2.25mhz standard contact transducer commonly used.

Thanks for all your help,

DAC

Roger Duwe
NDT Inspector, API-510, 570, 653
MISTRAS, USA, Joined Jan 2009, 148

Roger Duwe

NDT Inspector, API-510, 570, 653
MISTRAS,
USA,
Joined Jan 2009
17:20 Dec-30-2009
Re: Material Attenution while using DGS
In Reply to DAC at 18:40 Dec-29-2009 (Opening).