where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions
Career Discussions >
how to get started?
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

16:56 Jan-12-2010
angel
how to get started?

Hello everybody, I am new on this big field, I hve a a bachellor degree in materials engineering and I am also a certified welder, now linving in USA, looking to be certified in ndt, looking for school that offer best taining posible, I dont know if it is better to pursue and associated degree or some certificates, please any information is valuable, thanks....

02:14 Jan-13-2010
tj
Re: how to get started? In Reply to angel at 16:56 Jan-12-2010 (Opening).

Hi Angel,

I believe that hands on experience in real world situations is going to give you a better chance and be more rewarding for you in this field. There are degrees (such as applied science) available for NDT students. Saying this, working with a serious NDTservice utilizing multiple methods is IMO the greatest route. For example, you will not see the bottom of a dry docked riverboat at your local community college! Your welding experience will tell you a lot about this field because the learning experience is very similar. You may find yourself down the road wondering if you want to go and get an applied science degree in NDT or be satisfied that you have the equivalent in experience!

TJ

18:25 Jan-13-2010
Angel
Re: how to get started? In Reply to tj at 02:14 Jan-13-2010 .

Hi TJ,