where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Basic rules for ultrasonic weld inspection of butt welds
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

Tecnatom
Tecnatom has more than 50 years of experience providing services, equipment and systems devoted to NDT testing in several sectors and markets.

01:55 Feb-18-2010
David Bunch
Basic rules for ultrasonic weld inspection of butt welds

Please feel free to add, criticize, or correct my method of ultrasonic examination. I've been working in the NDT field for two years, performing angle beam inspection on my own for approximately one. I'm trying to get a list necessary fundamental rules to follow for ultrasonic inspection of butt welds, not only for myself, but to help others at my small lab who want to learn.

In no particular order:
1- Identify the type of weld joint to be inspected (single-vee, double-vee, compound)

2-Take thickness readings of the base metal on each side of the weld.

3-If doing a weld profile, take thickness readings on weld cap and adjacent to weld, and using a contour gauge, draw the weld on paper.

4- Using the formula 2T X Tan B (b=angle used), position the probe far enough back for second leg inspection

5- Scan with a 45, 60, and 70 degree wedge. If flaws are found, mark the area on the weld. Investigate the flaw with the wedge that produces the highest signal.

6- When an indcation is found, examine it from both sides of the weld. I know that lack of sidewall fusion shows up well in the first leg (when room permits) from the opposite side of the weld, and shows up well in the second leg from the same side of weld. Lack of root penetration will have different surface distances on each side of the weld.