where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Volume Graphics GmbH
Leading industrial companies around the world look for defects in their products using Volume Graphics software.

Technical Discussions
Rui Maia
Student
Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal, Joined Jan 2002, 1

Rui Maia

Student
Instituto Superior Tecnico,
Portugal,
Joined Jan 2002
00:52 Jan-04-2002
Railway optimal fequency

Hello dear friends,

I'm a undergraduate student of Instituto Superior Tecnico at Lisbon, Portugal. Currently I'm doing some research on railway ultrasonic properties. I would like to know if someone could help me whrere to find some articles/books or literature in general about railway acoustic trasmission, best transducers, atenuation properties of rails, optimal transmision frequency and / or mathematical expressions for this themes. Also I would like to know if there is any kind of software that can simulate acoustic transmissions on materials.

Thank you very much for your attention,

Rui Maia

Philippe Guevremont
Engineering
Earth Tech Canada Inc., Canada, Joined Jan 2002, 2

Philippe Guevremont

Engineering
Earth Tech Canada Inc.,
Canada,
Joined Jan 2002
01:02 Jan-04-2002
Re: Railway optimal fequency
Hello Rui,

I'm not aware of any software that can accurately model acoustic emissions in materials under stress. However, for simulating wavefields in solids I refer you to the program Wave2000 Pro from Cyber Logic in NYC. Point your browser to www.cyberlogic.org.

Regards

Philippe Guevremont, P.Eng., M.Eng.

: Hello dear friends,