where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Materials Research Institute
Consulting to the NDT industry.

Technical Discussions
Suresh Palanisamy
Student, - Ph D Engineering
Swinburne University, Australia, Joined Jul 2000, 5

Suresh Palanisamy

Student, - Ph D Engineering
Swinburne University,
Australia,
Joined Jul 2000
00:05 Jan-15-2002
Calibration Procedures for Immersion Ultrasound Testing

Hi all,

I am a researcher working on Ultrasound immersion testing of Aluminium parts.
I have a copy of the Australian Standard 2083-1981 -- Calibration Blocks and their methods of use in Ultrasonic Testing,
which explains basically about the ultrasound contact testing.

My question is whether there are any separate calibration standards for ultrasound immersion testing.
If so what are they.

Thank you,

Suresh Palanisamy

Udo Schlengermann
Consultant, -
Standards Consulting, Germany, Joined Nov 1998, 174

Udo Schlengermann

Consultant, -
Standards Consulting,
Germany,
Joined Nov 1998
04:48 Jan-15-2002
Re: Calibration Procedures for Immersion Ultrasound Testing
reply by Udo Schlengermann
:

If you look for general standards on ultrasonic immersion technique, please take a look at the following ASTM specifications:

ASTM E124 (2001)
Standard practice for immersed ultrasonic examination by the reflection-method using pulsed longitudinal waves.

ASTM E1001 (1999)
Standard practice for detection and evaluation of discontinuities by the immersed pulsed-echo ultrasonic method using longitudinal waves.

Reference
More details how to use the ultrasonic immersion technique for special test objects you can only get from handbooks or by special training courses.