where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

NDTSS - Non Destructive Testing Society of Singapore
Come & join the membership of NDTSS, Gain access to international developments.
Technical Discussions
EVA GONZALEZ
EVA GONZALEZ
07:45 Feb-05-2002
Equivalence between EN4179 and SNT-TC-1A

Sorry if the question seems to be obvious but I am quite new in this business:I have an inspector qualified by ASNT SNT-TC-1A but Joint aviation regulation-145 (JAR-145) tells me to be qualified against EN 4179. Which are the differences? On aviation industry, Could it be considered equivant?.
Thanks in adavance.
Best reagards

I have corrected my e-mail address....

Dave Wilkes
Dave Wilkes
08:25 Feb-06-2002
Re: Equivalence between EN4179 and SNT-TC-1A
No need to apologise Eva, those of us who have been in
this industry for many years, are still trying to understand the various qualification schemes and their
equivalences.

My first thoughts would be that your ASNT operator would not be EN 4173 approved, unless he had attended
and qualified on a EN 4173 approved course.

But the final say is normally with your client who in
most instances can choose to accept alternative
qualifications.

There is an article on EN 4173 on this website that
you might find useful.

http://www.ndt.net/article/ecndt98/aero/056/056.htm

Regards

Dave Wilkes
Asst Editor
www.ndtcabin.com "The internet magazine for ndt professionals"

Udo Schlengermann
Consultant, -
Standards Consulting, Germany, Joined Nov 1998, 182

Udo Schlengermann

Consultant, -
Standards Consulting,
Germany,
Joined Nov 1998
04:21 Feb-06-2002
Re: Equivalence between EN4179 and SNT-TC-1A
Reply by Udo Schlengermann:

this is only to give the correct document titles:

The question is related to the following standards:

1. ASNT-TC-1A (2001)