where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Real time monitoring of aircraft structures
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

01:31 Jul-01-2002
Andreas Bugge
Real time monitoring of aircraft structures

I am a Norwegian student of Mechanical Engineering having a summer internship in Germany.

Doing literature research on the topic; "in-service/real time crack growth monitoring of aircraft aluminum structures", I would like to know where to start.

Do anyone know specific literature on the topic? I have searched the NDT.net database and found several articles, but none specifically addressing this problem.

Another question is which methods that are suitable for this kind of monitoring. Is acoustic emission, eddy current, ultrasonic testing, or vibrothermography more promising?

Hope that somone can help me.

Thanks!
Andreas Bugge

02:02 Jul-01-2002
Jens Forker
Re: Real time monitoring of aircraft structures A very good starting point for literature search regarding acoustic emission (AE) is certainly the 'Journal of AE', published by Professor Kanji Ono, UCLA (ono@seas.ucla.edu).

Further AE is a very promising technique, as it allows one to monitor a quite large volume with only 1 sensor without the need for scanning. We helped a company doing health monitoring of a re-entry vehicle.

For more details on AE see our website and contact us directly.

Regards
Jens Forker

: I am a Norwegian student of Mechanical Engineering having a summer internship in Germany.
: Doing literature research on the topic; "in-service/real time crack growth monitoring of aircraft aluminum structures", I would like to know where to start.