where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Sonatest Ltd
From our three distinct business centres in the UK, USA and CANADA, Sonatest design and produce a leading range of high performance ultrasonic NDT equipment and accessories.
Technical Discussions
Andreas Bugge
Andreas Bugge
01:31 Jul-01-2002
Real time monitoring of aircraft structures

I am a Norwegian student of Mechanical Engineering having a summer internship in Germany.

Doing literature research on the topic; "in-service/real time crack growth monitoring of aircraft aluminum structures", I would like to know where to start.

Do anyone know specific literature on the topic? I have searched the NDT.net database and found several articles, but none specifically addressing this problem.

Another question is which methods that are suitable for this kind of monitoring. Is acoustic emission, eddy current, ultrasonic testing, or vibrothermography more promising?

Hope that somone can help me.

Thanks!
Andreas Bugge

Jens Forker
Jens Forker
02:02 Jul-01-2002
Re: Real time monitoring of aircraft structures
A very good starting point for literature search regarding acoustic emission (AE) is certainly the 'Journal of AE', published by Professor Kanji Ono, UCLA (ono@seas.ucla.edu).

Further AE is a very promising technique, as it allows one to monitor a quite large volume with only 1 sensor without the need for scanning. We helped a company doing health monitoring of a re-entry vehicle.

For more details on AE see our website and contact us directly.

Regards
Jens Forker

: I am a Norwegian student of Mechanical Engineering having a summer internship in Germany.
: Doing literature research on the topic; "in-service/real time crack growth monitoring of aircraft aluminum structures", I would like to know where to start.