where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Generation of Rayleigh Waves
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

AMDATA Products (WesDyne)
AMDATA is an engineering and technical services firm dedicated to providing standard and custom nondestructive examinations (NDE) products and systems

00:44 Aug-08-2002
Bill Prosser
Generation of Rayleigh Waves

I am totally new to the field of Ultrasonics so please excuse this question if it seems extremely trivial.
I want to conduct an experiment whereby I induce Rayleigh waves into a piece of Aluminium / Mild Steel with the aid of wedge transducers. Can anybody suggest a make and model of suitable transducers ? I believe the angle of the wedge should be about 65 degrees, how is this angle calculated ? I am able to calculate the refracted Longitudinal and Shear angles (Snells Law) but fail to see how one can calculate the wedge angle for generation of Rayleigh waves only. Can anyone suggest a suitable experiment with set up instructions ?

Also, can Rayleigh waves travel around corners ???

Any help anyone can give will be much appreciated.

THANKS

Bill

00:59 Aug-08-2002
Jim Knowles
Re: Generation of Rayleigh Waves : I am totally new to the field of Ultrasonics so please excuse this question if it seems extremely trivial.