where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

IMG ULTRASUONI SRL
Ultrasonic transducers for industrial applications (NDT) and medical (Doppler effect). Probes, Ultrasonic instruments, Special systems for NDT.

Technical Discussions
T. Idzenga
Student
University of Twente, Netherlands, Joined Aug 2002, 2

T. Idzenga

Student
University of Twente,
Netherlands,
Joined Aug 2002
03:04 Dec-20-2002
Piëzo-electric detection of Shear-waves

Dear all,

I am a student working on a project on acoustic detection. Can anybody tell me about piëzo-electric detection of shear-waves? Specifically about the signal-response in a piëzo-electric layer to a shear-wave?

Many thanks,

Tim.

Paul A. Meyer
R & D,
GE Inspection Technologies, USA, Joined Nov 1998, 47

Paul A. Meyer

R & D,
GE Inspection Technologies,
USA,
Joined Nov 1998
06:03 Dec-23-2002
Re: Piëzo-electric detection of Shear-waves
Hello Tim,
If the wave is vertically polarized (particle displacement is perpendicular to the surface) it can be detected with a conventional piezoelectric ultrasound transducer, although sensitivity may be an issue. The lateral dimension of the transducer should be much smaller than the wavelength of the signal.
If the wave is horizontally polarized (particle displacement is parallel to the surface) a piezoelectric transducer specifically designed for the application is best. Also, the couplant need to be sufficiently viscous to couple the shear wave to the probe.
Other types of probes (EMATs, capacitive probes, optical probes) may also be suitable.
Paul
:
Dear all,
: I am a student working on a project on acoustic detection. Can anybody tell me about piëzo-electric detection of shear-waves? Specifically about the signal-response in a piëzo-electric layer to a shear-wave?
: Many thanks,
: Tim.