where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Technical Discussions
Steven Younge
Steven Younge
02:08 Apr-03-2003
Ultrasound Imaging system Pulser & RF power amplifier

Hi, Everyone:

I am a student. While I read ultrasound articles I was confused by several terms as below:

Transmitter; (RF) Power amplifier (for example, class E power amp); Pulser.

I understood maybe transmitter means Pulser or (RF) Power amplifier, but what is different between Pulser and RF Power amplifier used in ultrasound transmitter? Is RF Power amplifier a part of Pulser or vice versa in ultrasound transmitter? When designing ultrasound transmitter hardware, whether or not transmitter should have separate Pulser and RF Power amplifier?

I knew Puler could produce spike (needle pulse), or short square wave; RF power amplifier amplifies tone burst, sine wave, or other wave that produced by DDS (direct digital synthesizer) or AWG (arbitrary wave generator)for driving transducer.

Could somebody help me?

Thanks in advance,

Steven

My e-mail address is as follow:

rfchip5@yahoo.ca

Joe Buckley, Sonatest PLc
Consultant, ASNT L-III, Honorary Secretary of BINDT
Level X NDT, BINDT, United Kingdom, Joined Oct 1999, 528

Joe Buckley, Sonatest PLc

Consultant, ASNT L-III, Honorary Secretary of BINDT
Level X NDT, BINDT,
United Kingdom,
Joined Oct 1999
03:38 Apr-03-2003
Re: Ultrasound Imaging system Pulser & RF power amplifier
Your Understanding is spot on. I have only heard an RF Power amp being mentioned in Ultrasonics in relation to tone-burst or arbitrary waveform transducer energisation. Even then it will often be described ( and I plead guilty myself!) as a 'tone burst pulser'

Joe

: Hi, Everyone:
: I am a student. While I read ultrasound articles I was confused by several terms as below: