where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Technical Discussions
damoon sima
damoon sima
00:21 Apr-08-2003
stress measurment by eddy current

i'm a student of mechanical engineering in tehran polytechnic university.
i wanna know if it is possible to measure the residual stress
by eddycurrent.if it is possible please show me some refrances
about this matter.
i want to plan some experiments on this field.please help me in this way.
many thanks

Tom Bloodworth
Tom Bloodworth
00:36 Apr-10-2003
Re: stress measurment by eddy current
"Wanna" know?!

Residual Stress may be measured using electromagnetic methods, but is is quite a difficult problem. I do not have references to hand, but do a search for work by David Buttle at AEA Technology. He developed the MAPS system which, to my knowledge, is the only such non-destructive method that can measure absolute stress.

: i'm a student of mechanical engineering in tehran polytechnic university.
: i wanna know if it is possible to measure the residual stress
: by eddycurrent.if it is possible please show me some refrances
: about this matter.
: i want to plan some experiments on this field.please help me in this way.
: many thanks

Product Spotlight

Varex Imaging Large Field of View (FOV) Digital Detector Arrays (DDAs)

A larger FOV DDA can reduce the space and volume of the X-ray inspection system on the factory floor
, enable faster scanning times, better throughput and better resolution images at a lower dose. Customers can also save time and money. With these benefits in mind, Varex Imaging has designed a family of large FOV detectors (4343HE, XRD 1611, 4343DX-I, 4343CT) for our industrial imaging customers.
>

NovaScope 6000

The all-digital Novascope 6000 is a portable, ultra-high precision thickness gauge for high-speed