where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Lateral resolution of TOFD method
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

NT - Nove technologie s.r.o.
Ultrasonic gel for NDT application. Various types of ultrasonic agents. Starsonic SS2, SS3

06:43 Sep-05-2003
Rebecca Wuellner
Lateral resolution of TOFD method

I'm a graduate student at the University of Wisconsin-Madison studying the ultrasonic time of flight diffraction (TOFD) method. I would like to determine the lateral resolution of the setup I am using. Essentially what I would like to be able to calculate is the required difference in length of two ultrasonic paths of travel so that both signals will be detected in a single scan. As an example, assume inspection of a flat plate. How do I calculate that smallest thickness of plate that will produce a waveform containing both the near surface wave and backwall reflection? Any referces to literature about determining the lateral resolution of TOFD would be helpful.

Thanks,
Rebecca

01:31 Sep-08-2003

Steven Johnson

Consultant
USA,
Joined Mar 2004
Re: Lateral resolution of TOFD method I can give you the practicle hands on approach.
Testing of carbon steel piping under 12 mm in thick using TOFD doesn't very well . The receiver transducer can't recover any useful information due to the intensity of the transmitting transducer. And even at 12 mm thick and using 15 MHZ transducers there a good chance something could go undetected. Calculations are nice but can't take the place of hands on.

07:57 Sep-08-2003

Ed Ginzel

R & D, -
Materials Research Institute,
Canada,
Joined Nov 1998
Re: Lateral resolution of TOFD method Rebecca: