where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
In-situ Chemical Composition and Physical Properties
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

03:38 Jan-30-1999
Dilip Maniar
In-situ Chemical Composition and Physical Properties

Sir/Madam,

This posting is regarding nondestructive testing techniques available for in-situ material evaluation. I will briefly describe the problem we are facing. It will be of great use to us if you can suggest some direction to look for.

I am a graduate student at The University of Texas at Austin. I am working on a research project related to historic metal bridges. The bridge that I am working on as a case study was constructed in 1885. We don't have any details about the metal used in the construction of that bridge. We are looking at some of the nondestructive testing techniques to evaluate the mechanical properties and the chemical composition of the metal used. Generally we take out a piece of metal from a bridge and carry out destructive tests in the laboratory to know everything about it. In my case study, the structural analysis shows that all the bridge members are optimized and we can not take out any piece of metal from the bridge for material evaluation. Our main objective is to know chemical composition, mechanical properties and elastic properties of the metal used.

We will highly appreciate your help in to the matter.

Dilip Maniar

Graduate Research Assistant
UT Austin Structural Engineering
FSEL: 512-471-5783
Home: 512-478-9275
maniard@mail.utexas.edu

05:17 Jan-30-1999
Wieslaw Bicz
Re: In-situ Chemical Composition and Physical Properties : Sir/Madam,