where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

Volume Graphics GmbH
Leading industrial companies around the world look for defects in their products using Volume Graphics software.

Technical Discussions
Dilip Maniar
Dilip Maniar
03:38 Jan-30-1999
In-situ Chemical Composition and Physical Properties

Sir/Madam,

This posting is regarding nondestructive testing techniques available for in-situ material evaluation. I will briefly describe the problem we are facing. It will be of great use to us if you can suggest some direction to look for.

I am a graduate student at The University of Texas at Austin. I am working on a research project related to historic metal bridges. The bridge that I am working on as a case study was constructed in 1885. We don't have any details about the metal used in the construction of that bridge. We are looking at some of the nondestructive testing techniques to evaluate the mechanical properties and the chemical composition of the metal used. Generally we take out a piece of metal from a bridge and carry out destructive tests in the laboratory to know everything about it. In my case study, the structural analysis shows that all the bridge members are optimized and we can not take out any piece of metal from the bridge for material evaluation. Our main objective is to know chemical composition, mechanical properties and elastic properties of the metal used.

We will highly appreciate your help in to the matter.

Dilip Maniar

Graduate Research Assistant
UT Austin Structural Engineering
FSEL: 512-471-5783
Home: 512-478-9275
maniard@mail.utexas.edu

Wieslaw Bicz
Wieslaw Bicz
05:17 Jan-30-1999
Re: In-situ Chemical Composition and Physical Properties
: Sir/Madam,