where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
I Need Help about "Inspection Plans for Welding Seams"
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

02:46 Aug-24-2004
Tugrul TURGUT
I Need Help about "Inspection Plans for Welding Seams"

Hi! I am a post graduate student in Turkey. The subject of my thesis is "INSPECTION PLANS FOR WELDING SEAMS".

In my country i didnt find enough information about it. And i couldnt find enough information from the internet.

So if someone knows any internet address about this subject please send them to me.

Or if you have any more information, books, magazines, journals, .. something like that, please send them to me.

Regards,

Tugrul TURGUT

E-mail : tugrul_turgut@yahoo.com

Tel : +90 542 833 35 11

Address : Mimarsinan Cad. No:18/A Yalova/TURKEY

07:34 Aug-25-2004

Mike Trinidad

Consultant, API 510 570 & 653
Marine Inspection Service Pty Ltd (MIS),
Australia,
Joined Jan 2003
Re: I Need Help about "Inspection Plans for Welding Seams" G'Day Mr Turgut

I think you need to be a bit more specific in what you define as an "Inspection Plans for Welding Seams"

If you mean how to inspect welding seams you can use visual testing, penetrant testing, magnetic testing, electromagnetic testing, ultrasonic testing, acoustic emission testing, radiographic testing, leak testing, etc etc.

All the methods have different advantages and disadvantages and many of the methods have different methodologies e.g. ultrasonic testing ToFD, phased array.

Different methods and methodologies are used for different materials (steel, plastic) or different welding techniques (GTAW, FCW, FSW, GMAW, SAW, EGAW, SMAW, ESW etc, etc).