where expertise comes together - since 1996 -

The Largest Open Access Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)

Conference Proceedings, Articles, News, Exhibition, Forum, Network and more

where expertise comes together
- since 1996 -

ULTRASOUND INSTITUTE
The Ultrasound Institute can develop new advanced ultrasonic measurement, imaging and NDT techniques for non-conventional applications.

Technical Discussions
sandeep pawar
sandeep pawar
00:06 Dec-17-2004
tofd

hello all ndt fellows..i am a student from india preparing a seminar on 'TOFD-advantages,limitaions and applications'.i have a few doubts in my mind abt this technique ..so please help me clear those doubts....

1.where can i get tofd instrument in india...cost?
2.sorry but i dont really get what difference does it make whether it is reflection or diffraction?.
3.if there are 2 defects one above the other....doesn't the wave get diffracted twice?....in that case what is the result?......
4.why does diffraction take place at the tips only?..
5.what is the smallest defect that can be detected?
6.what type of defects can be detected?....

i am a complete novice to ndt ..so plz excuse me...if u know the answers do email me as soon as possible...

Product Spotlight

MUSE Mobile Ultrasonic Equipment

The MUSE, a portable ultrasonic imaging system, was developed for in-field inspections of light-weig
ht structures. The MUSE consists of a motor-driven manipulator, a water circulation system for the acoustic coupling and a portable ultrasonic flaw detector (USPC 3010). The MUSE provides images of internal defects (A-, B-,C- and D-scan).
>

Mentor UT – Ultrasonic Phased Array Flaw Detector

With Mentor UT, you get an accessible and efficient inspection experience. Create user-defined menus