where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Nodularity correlations to the ultrasonic velocity
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

PBP Optel sp. z o.o.
We are searching new ways - in ultrasonic techniques - in creation of new products

08:45 May-05-1999
Maria Kyriacou
Nodularity correlations to the ultrasonic velocity

I am a process Engineer at Holden (part of GM) in Australia and we are in
the process of setting up an ultrasonic velocity testing system.  We have a
pulse elcho immersion ststem set up with a transducer as the transmitter
and a single receiver  crystal.

As I am only beginning to understand the process of the ultrasonic testing
I would appreciate if you could point me in the right direction with
respect to literature related to correlations between nodularity in cast
iron and ultrasonic velocity.  I couldn't find anything I thought was
relevant on an internet search.

We are looking at using 80% nodularity checking as an acceptance/rejection
criterion for a casting and would like to understand what the relationship
are between the velocity and the nodularity and what (if any) other factors
should also be considered.  Is there any empirical data available that can
be used as a reference?

Regards,

Maria Kyriacou

06:15 May-06-1999

Udo Schlengermann

Consultant, -
Standards Consulting,
Germany,
Joined Nov 1998
Re: Nodularity correlations to the ultrasonic velocity
reply by Udo Schlengermann, Krautkramer GmbH, Germany (uschlengermann@krautkramer.de)

The correlation between nodularity and sound velocity in cast iron has been studied during the last 40 years.
Therefore most information is found on paper and not on websites.
For example you can study
Ultrasonic testing of materials
by J. & H. Krautkramer,