where expertise comes together - since 1996

Web's Largest Portal of Nondestructive Testing (NDT)
Open Access Database (Conference Proceedings, Articles, News), Exhibition, Forum, Network

All Forum Boards
Technical Discussions >
Ultrasound - Problems with AD600 ground reference
Career Discussions
Job Offers
Job Seeks
Classified Ads
About NDT.net
Articles & News

IDEKO S.Coop
We provide Precision, Quality, Reliability and Productivity in manufacturing processes among our knowledge of Inspection and measurement technologies

03:49 Mar-18-2005
Klein
Ultrasound - Problems with AD600 ground reference

I’m a Brazilian researcher designing an ultrasound range finder for Biomedical Department. This is a picture from Orcad project schematic:
http://vesatur.sites.uol.com.br/temp/schematic.jpg
I placed an AC generator (Vin) to simulate the ultrasound reflected wave with 1mV amplitude and 700kHz.
This is the simulation: http://vesatur.sites.uol.com.br/temp/simulation.jpg
Gain = 41dB.

I’m designing an ultrasound receiver with AD600 (Analog Devices) to amplify the reflected wave with a preamp supplied by an OPA350. I’m really confused with all those AD600 ground connections and I’m aware if I make a mistake it will produce a lot of noise and it will interfere in my measures. The AD600 IC provides separated ground references for input (A1LO/A2LO) and output (A1CM/A2CM). Datasheet warns: “It is important that A1LO and A2LO be connected directly to the input ground. Significant impedance in these connections reduces the gain accuracy. A1CM and A2CM should be connected to the load ground.”
I’m using the same single transducer element for transmission and reception then transducer has to be connected with transmitter and receiver circuits. In my schematic, I labeled ground plane with number 1. These are my ground considerations:
• Label 1 - I attached all transmitter components and DC regulators connected to VPOS (pin 13) and VNEG (pin 12) in AD600 to ground plane.